Skip to content

SirsiDynix Building Better Communities Awards for Libraries

I have a little cool project that I am participating in at SirsiDynix. You might have already seen the cover wrapper on this month’s Library Journal. The best parts of this project are that I:
– Get to work with a cool committee of leading librarians
– Get to see many, many examples of library innovation
– AND we get to award $50,000.00 U.S. in prizes.
The normal press release has gone out already here but here is some information about the project (just in case you want to nominate some library (or your own library):
Maybe it’s a city or county library… or a library in campus setting . . . or a library within a government or business organization. Regardless of the environment, today’s visionary and assertive libraries — and the library professionals whose ideas and ingenuity give them life — are making a real difference in the user communities they serve. This is most evident in how libraries are using today’s exciting technologies.
Maybe it’s promoting literacy and life-long learning… leading the way in campus-wide portal initiatives. . . innovating new approaches that help professionals in advancing their research efforts . . . preserving local, regional, or national heritage… delivering resources to businesses or other collaborative organizations… or any of the other important initiatives being undertaken today. Forward-thinking SirsiDynix libraries are positioning themselves as indispensable in their communities and creating better places to live, work, and learn.
Now, it’s time to recognize these leaders. That’s why SirsiDynix is creating the Building Better Communities Awards for Libraries.
Please tell us about that outstanding library or librarian you know. Simply go to and make your nominations. It is a simple online for right here. Please nominate any type of library organization that exemplifies innovative technology leadership through initiatives they have recently undertaken. Please make your online nominations by Friday, April 14, 2006.
Who is eligible? Any North American SirsiDynix library whose technology leadership has distinguished them in service to their user communities.
Five (5) library organizations each will be awarded US$10,000 for their leadership and achievements.
Winners of the awards will be announced at the American Library Association Annual Conference in June 2006. Winners will be selected by a panel of library leaders. I have the honor of chairing this committee of the following esteemed library leaders from all sectors of librarianship:

Posted on: January 22, 2006, 4:57 pm Category: Uncategorized

0 Responses

Stay in touch with the conversation, subscribe to the RSS feed for comments on this post.